Print Page | Your Cart | Sign In | Register
News & Press: CCLA News

CCLA 2017 Award Winners!

February 14, 2018  
The CCLA is excited to announce the recipients of the three awards we will present at our AGM and Awards Dinner on March 8, 2018.

The Carleton Medal - Mary Jane Binks, Q.C.
The Carleton Medal is given to a lawyer (including a retired lawyer, judge, former judge, or paralegal) who is most deserving of recognition for great diligence, high ideals and outstanding leadership in the practice of law throughout their career. Those who will receive the medal will have made a significant contribution to the profession of law, whether as a solicitor in effectively performing services in that position, as a barrister in attaining an excellent reputation in the courts, as an academic, or for a single act of notable distinction that advances the ideals of the profession.

The Gordon F. Henderson Award - Mitchell Kitagawa
The Gordon F. Henderson Award is presented to a lawyer (including a retired lawyer, a judge, a former judge, or a paralegal) who has made a significant contribution to the welfare of the community by performing charitable services on behalf of the community. In recognition of the recipient’s great dedication and high ideals in service to the community, a $1,000 donation will be made by the CCLA, on the recipient’s behalf, to a charity of the recipient's choice.

The Regional Senior Justice Award - Solomon Friedman
The County of Carleton Law Association (CCLA) established the Regional Senior Justice (RSJ) Award in 2003 to honour a lawyer in practice ten (10) years or less who has made an outstanding contribution as a litigator or as a solicitor within the profession through their excellence as a professional, as well as outside the profession by making an outstanding contribution to the community.

Congratulations to all of our award winners!